Database Trial: MusicalTheaterSongs.com

We welcome your feedback! Please try the following database and let us know what you think at d.roose@miami.edu.


The right song, right now for your next audition, performance or for study.

MusicalTheaterSongs.com is a subscription-based database for musical theater Repertoire. Find the right song, right now, for your next audition, performance or for study. Search 11,000 (and counting) titles spanning 150 years of shows, custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags, get direct links to sheet music and recordings, share your searches through email and social media platforms and connect with your school’s or local library’s music collection through Worldcat.

  • Search over 11,000 (and counting) titles spanning 150 years of shows
  • Custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags
  • Choose classic titles, rarities, or the latest work from today’s top new composers
  • Get direct links to sheet music and recordings
  • Connect with your school’s or local library’s music collection using Worldcat. We can also link directly to your school’s catalog
  • Already licensed in hundreds of Schools/Universities worldwide
  • Check out our featured Article on Playbill
  • Ideal for any student with an interest in Music Theater
  • Share your searches on a variety of E-Mail and social media platforms

WHAT’S NEW

  • Check out the newest songs from our on-going composer’s consortia Musical Theatre Factory and Home Grown Australia
  • Full-Time collaboration with ContemporaryMusicalTheatre.com
  • Full-Time collaboration with NewMusicalTheatre.com
  • New Association with Rock The Audition
  • New upgraded server for even faster search results
  • AND NEW SEARCH PARAMETER BY POPULARITY

FOR OFF-CAMPUS USAGE

Title: MusicalTheaterSongs.com
URL: https://musicaltheatersongs.com
Domain: musicaltheatersongs.com

Our site works best over SSL, hence the https:// instead of http://.

(Information from MusicalTheaterSongs.com)



Free Streaming Video System Added to UM Libraries Databases

by Terri Robar and James Wargacki, Learning & Research Services

Kanopy is a video streaming platform for libraries with one of the largest and most unique collections in the world, featuring over 28,000 movies, documentaries, and indie and foreign films from over 800 producers including The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, BBC, and PBS, as well as thousands of independent filmmakers. Hundreds of new films are added to the platform each month.

The collection includes indie hits like 2 Days in Paris, classic masterpieces like Day of the Dead and Bicycle Thieves, and award-winning documentaries like Hearts and Minds.

 

START STREAMING NOW!

 

Kanopy’s motto is “thoughtful entertainment” – seeking to provide library patrons with access to films of unique social and cultural, not just entertainment, value; films that are often difficult or impossible to access elsewhere.

Kanopy is also committed to diversity, with an amazing array of foreign language films and films on race, LGBTQ, and other topics. Kanopy’s films are also compatible for the hearing impaired (with captions and transcripts) and visually impaired (compatible with technologies such as JAWS).

The University of Miami Libraries have unlimited simultaneous access to all of these films, and the system is compatible with all kinds of devices and works with Windows or Mac. Users can access the content with the Safari, Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer web browsers. Free apps are available for both iOS and Android platforms.

One can set up a user account at no charge and have his or her own personal workspace. Set up playlists, check your recent viewing history, and use the tools available, which include clip-making and ratings/comments. You can even send comments directly to the filmmaker.

University of Miami students, faculty, and staff are welcome to view any of these films for their own use. Films can also be shown to any UM group including classes, clubs, and film nights at the residential colleges. Faculty may include titles in their course reserve lists with the Libraries, or otherwise assign them as homework to be viewed on the students’ own time.

University faculty can suggest additional films to be added to the database. If Kanopy can make a deal with the rights owner, they will alert the interested parties when the title is available. Please bear in mind that some film distributors may have already signed an exclusive agreement with another streaming company.

Kanopy is available at https://miami.kanopystreaming.com and is also on the Libraries’ list of databases.

For any questions about the Kanopy platform, please contact Learning and Research Services Librarian Terri Robar.

Enjoy!



Now available: medici.tv

Medici.tv partners with world-famous venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions to broadcast more than 100 live events each year. The database “features over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including concerts and archived historical concerts; operas; ballets; documentaries, artist portraits and educational programs; and master classes.”

Visit medici.tv



New Library Catalog Now Live: Search, Browse, and Discover with uSearch

For the past year, UM’s nine libraries have been collaborating on a merger and migration to a new library management platform and catalog/discovery tool in order to streamline access to the University’s millions of library holdings. The new catalog, known as uSearch, went live May 19, uniting three separate catalogs from across the Coral Gables, Miller School of Medicine, and Rosenstiel campuses.

The library-wide effort was first announced to the University community in February. “Faculty and students on all campuses will be very pleased to discover that, with one search, resources from across the University’s libraries will be displayed on their screen,” said Professor of Law Sally Wise, chair of the Faculty Senate Library & Information Resources Committee and director of the Law Library.

Library users can explore uSearch from an interdisciplinary access point or focus their searches through the uSearch portals of Medical and Law libraries, which have been customized with additional search settings specific to those subject areas.

What does this mean for library users?

  • One catalog: All resources from Law, Medical (Calder, Ophthalmology, and UMH Libraries), Interdisciplinary (Richter), and the subject specialty libraries (Architecture, Business, Marine & Atmospheric Science, and Music) will be available in one catalog.
  • One search: Users will now be able to search all locally digitized/created resources from a single search field. This search includes digitized content from our distinctive collections, institutional repositories, and UM electronic theses and dissertations.
  • One login: Users will have a single means of authentication for most library resources (CaneID).*

Additionally users can look forward to enhanced communications on borrowed materials, including courtesy notices in advance of an item’s due date and loan and check-in receipts.

What do users get by logging in to the system?

While anyone may browse the catalog as a guest, signing in to the system provides users with access to a suite of services that includes:

  • the ability to request and/or place a hold on library materials
  • customize search preferences
  • save customized searches
  • save articles and catalog entries
  • add notes
  • create folders
  • export information to bibliographic software
  • receive alerts when new items are added that fit one’s search parameters, topics of interest, etc.

NOTE: Due to publisher licensing restrictions, results from some databases (e.g., Web of Science) only display if users are logged in.

Need help?

Find search tips and guidance on the use of specific uSearch features for interdisciplinary, Medical, and Law libraries:

Feedback and questions

We welcome your feedback and are grateful for your patience during this implementation process.

*Interlibrary Loan services of the Law and Medical libraries will remain independently operated by their respective departments.





Trial Now Available: Joanna Briggs Institute Database

Attention Nursing & Health Studies Students and Faculty:

A 30-day trial of the Joanna Briggs Institute database, open to the UM community, is now available through Tuesday, May 5.

The trial offers full access to the database, including the following resources:

  • Evidence based recommended practices
  • Evidence summaries
  • Best practice information sheets
  • Systematic reviews and systematic review protocols
  • Consumer information sheets
  • Technical reports

START THE TRIAL

For questions about using this resource, or to provide feedback about its potential usefulness for your research and teaching, please contact Nursing Librarian Vera Spika at vms40@miami.edu.







Mango Languages

The University of Miami Libraries have started a 1-year pilot of the Mango Languages program.  Mango offers online, conversation-based instruction in over 40 foreign and over 15 ESL courses taught in native languages. Mango offers remote access and free mobile applications so that tutorial can be accessed anytime.

Click on “courses” from the main page to start learning a language.