Trial Now Available: Joanna Briggs Institute Database

Attention Nursing & Health Studies Students and Faculty:

A 30-day trial of the Joanna Briggs Institute database, open to the UM community, is now available through Tuesday, May 5.

The trial offers full access to the database, including the following resources:

  • Evidence based recommended practices
  • Evidence summaries
  • Best practice information sheets
  • Systematic reviews and systematic review protocols
  • Consumer information sheets
  • Technical reports

START THE TRIAL

For questions about using this resource, or to provide feedback about its potential usefulness for your research and teaching, please contact Nursing Librarian Vera Spika at vms40@miami.edu.



Movies of 2015: The books on which they’re based, now on OverDrive

book2movie

Check out UML’s latest selection of downloadable popular eBooks and audiobooks for your mobile device available through OverDrive.

There are several highly anticipated movies on the horizon for 2015, such as Serena, In the Heart of the Sea, and True Story, to name a few. Below – and just added to our collection – are the books on which many of these upcoming films are based.

Click here to browse other new additions to the collection.

 

Don’t Point That Thing At Me (Mortdecai book one) by Kyril Bonfiglioli
(Mortdecai release date January 23, 2015)

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
(Fifty Shades of Grey release date February 13, 2015)

In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel Philbrick
(In the Heart of the Sea release date March 13, 2015)

Serena by Ron Rash
(Serena release date March 27, 2015)

True Story: Murder, Memoir, Mea Culpa by Michael Finkel
(True Story release date tentatively April 10, 2015)

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks
(The Longest Ride release date April 10, 2015)

Paper Towns by John Green
(Paper Towns release date June 5th, 2015)

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes
(Me Before You release date August 21, 2015)

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games book three) by Suzanne Collins
(The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 release date Nov 20, 2015)

The Martian by Andy Weir
(The Martian release date November 25, 2015)

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
(Dark Places release date TBD)

 



UM Libraries Join HathiTrust

UM Community Now Has Access to 2.6 Million More Texts

Coral Gables, Florida, – October 13, 2011

The University of Miami has become a member of HathiTrust (www.hathitrust.org), a partnership of major academic and research libraries collaborating in an extraordinary digital library initiative to preserve and provide access to the published record in digital form.

William Walker, Dean and University Librarian, announced today that the University’s HathiTrust membership will give the UM community access to an additional 2.6 million public domain books published before 1923. The volumes were primarily scanned from the collections of American and British research libraries, including The University of Michigan, Stanford, the New York Public Library, Oxford University, and Harvard,  primarily as part of the Google Books Project.

“University of Miami students and scholars will now have access to a significantly richer online collection of early imprints in all disciplines. The HathiTrust content gives the UM community access to a wealth of materials that were published long before the University was established, and it helps raise our resources to even greater stature,” said Walker.

As members of the Trust, members of the UM community will be able to search the Trust catalog and download imprints in the public domain. This will allow UM users to create private libraries of these electronic imprints. The UM Libraries will also be able to contribute digitized works that can be uploaded into the Trust’s repository.

For information on how to access HathiTrust content see http://www.hathitrust.org/help_digital_library

About the HathiTrust

Launched in 2008, HathiTrust has a growing membership currently comprising more than fifty partners.

Over the last two years, the partners have contributed more than 9 million volumes to the digital library, digitized from their library collections through a number of means including Google and Internet Archive digitization and in-house initiatives.

HathiTrust serves a dual role. First, as a trusted repository it guarantees the long-term preservation of the materials it holds, providing the expert curation and consistent access long associated with research libraries. Second, as a service for partners and a public good, HathiTrust offers persistent access to the digital collections. This includes viewing, downloading, and searching access to public domain volumes, and searching access to in copyright volumes. Specialized features are also available which facilitate access by persons with print disabilities, and allow users to gather subsets of the digital library into “collections” that can be searched and browsed.